Skip to Main Content
Academic OneFile Select
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/eaim|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/eaim|
Gale In Context: Elementary
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/itke|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/itke|
|lesson plan, project, scavenger hunt, resource guide and tip sheet||https://support.gale.com/training/products/itke|
Gale In Context: Middle School
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/msic|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/msic|
|lesson plan, project, scavenger hunt, resource guide and tip sheet||https://support.gale.com/training/products/msic|
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/itof|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/itof|
|lesson plan, project, scavenger hunt, resource guide and tip sheet||https://support.gale.com/training/products/itof|
Health and Wellness / Health and Medicine
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks|
|database icons and widget|
|lesson plan, project, scavenger hunt, resource guide and tip sheet||https://support.gale.com/training/products/hwrc|
High School Edition
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/stom|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/stom|
|lesson plan, project, scavenger hunt, resource guide and tip sheet||https://support.gale.com/training/products/stom|
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/lt|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/lt|
Literature Resource Center
|communication templates, social media posts, banners, flyers and bookmarks||https://support.gale.com/marketing/products/litrc|
|database icons and widget||https://support.gale.com/products/litrc|
|lesson plan, project, scavenger hunt, resource guide and tip sheet||https://support.gale.com/training/products/litrc|
Authorized Use of Licensed Materials
Cengage hereby grants to Authorized Users a subscription to access and read the product, and a non-exclusive, non-transferable license to download a reasonable portion of the product in printed or electronic format for internal or personal use.
Participating Member Institutions may loan digital or print copies of materials, including limited portions of eBooks, retrieved from the product for the purposes of interlibrary loan, to the extent allowed under the Canadian Copyright Act.
Participating Member Institutions and Authorized Users may use the materials contained within the products consistent with the doctrine of "fair dealing" as defined under the laws of Canada.
Special Library Reproductions
For the purposes of briefing the registered members of a special library, the library may make up to one hard copy for each member, provided that such copies are printed from the on-line database system so that a “hit” is registered on the Cengage on-line system and that the publisher royalty can be accurately traced and paid.
Print/Electronic Reserves and Course Management System/Intranet Use
Provided that Participating Member Institutions do not circumvent any features or functionality of the products, partners may include durable links to articles or other works (or portions thereof) contained in the products in electronic reserves systems, course management, or intranet sites so long as access to such materials are limited to Authorized Users.
Participating Member Institutions may print and make available a reasonable portion of the licensed materials for use in connection with specific courses of instruction.
Scholarly and Educational Purposes
Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users may provide licensed material to a third party for purposes encompassing teaching, research, and institutional needs, including but not limited to the right to:
Participating Member Institutions and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the licensed content in an electronic course pack or make an electronic copy for access by such students, provided that such use is done using links directly to the on-line database system in a manner that allows a "hit" to be registered on the Cengage on-line system so that the publisher royalty can be accurately tracked and paid. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source.
Printing (hard) copy versions of content for a course pack is not permitted unless it is for an authorized user that requires an accessible format.
Electronic links may be placed on Participating Member Institutions websites provided that such use is done using links directly to the on-line database system in a manner that allows a "hit" to be registered on the Cengage on-line system so that the publisher royalty can be accurately tracked and paid.
Participating Member Institutions and Authorized Users may distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the licensed materials in print or electronic form to Authorized Users. For avoidance of doubt, classroom handouts shall include the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class.
Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the licensed materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use but in no case for re-sale. In addition, Authorized Users have the right to use, with appropriate credit, figures, tables and brief excerpts from the licensed materials in the authorized user’s own scientific, scholarly and educational works.
Local Electronic Copies
Participating Member Institutions shall be permitted to make temporary local electronic copies (by means of caching or mirrored storage) of all or part of the Licensed Content as necessary solely to ensure efficient use by Authorized Users, provided that such use is subject to all the terms and conditions of this agreement and does not result in making available to Authorized Users of duplicate copies of the Licensed Content.
Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users may alter or modify the licensed materials as necessary to provide an equivalent level of access to Authorized Users with disabilities.
Cengage shall provide either online at its web site, through a third-party service (such as LOCKSS or Portico), or to Participating Member Institutions in mutually agreed physical media, one full copy of the licensed archive materials in raw data format. The raw data may be used by Participating Member Institutions and Authorized Users to perform text, image, and/or data mining functions and algorithms for legitimate academic research and other educational purposes in accordance with the terms of this agreement.
All Streaming Video and Audio Products
Audio and video files are delivered to Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users via streaming service over the Internet. Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users shall not download or otherwise copy the streaming videos or audio contained in the products. In the case of content that can potentially be publicly performed, Participating Member Institutions must secure permission from Cengage’s Licensor and/or the copyright holder unless otherwise stated in the Canadian Copyright Act.
Training and Marketing Materials
Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users may display, download or print licensed materials for the purposes of internal marketing or testing, and for training Authorized Users.
Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users shall have the right to electronically display the licensed material.
MARC records may be placed in Participating Member Institutions’ online public access catalog (OPAC) or shared online catalog (e.g., WorldCat) unless otherwise specified with respect to a particular product.
Electronic Resource Discovery, Access, and Management
For electronic resource discovery, access and/or management services, the Participating Member Institutions reserves all right, title and interest in all Participating Member Institutions specific data it contributes to the product (which may include but is not limited to Participating Member Institutions created metadata, bibliographic information, holdings and circulation data) and grants Cengage permission to use such data in raw form for the limited purpose of operating and improving the products and such information may only be provided to third parties in aggregate form. Raw usage data containing information relating to the identity of specific users shall not be provided to any third party without the Participating Member Institutions permission. Provided that such access, use, and/or sharing does not violate an express provision of this agreement, Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users are permitted to:
Library Catalog Enrichment Service
For library catalog enrichment services (e.g., Syndetics), Participating Member Institutions may use the enrichment elements for the sole purpose of augmenting Participating Member Institutions’ own library OPAC or website.
Perpetual License Content
The license to purchased content and any updates Participating Member Institutions receives is perpetual, and may only be revoked if Participating Member Institutions materially breaches this agreement, or if the licensed materials contain errors or could be subject to an infringement or other adverse claim by a third party.
Cengage shall deposit a machine readable commercially viable copy the licensed content with a trusted third party digital preservation and electronic archiving vendor (such as LOCKSS or Portico), or to Participating Member Institutions in mutually agreed physical media, one full copy of the licensed materials in raw data format.
If Participating Member Institutions loses the ability to access its purchased content online through Cengage (e.g., if Cengage discontinues online access services), or if the purchased content is otherwise eligible for local loading, Participating Member Institutions may obtain digital copies upon certifying that it will secure and restrict use of the purchased content as contemplated under this agreement, using systems and technology at least as protective as Cengage’s.
Locally Loaded Purchased Content - Data Mining
Subject to any content-specific restrictions, Participating Member Institutions and its Authorized Users may extract and compile data from locally-loaded copies of the purchased content solely for Participating Member Institution’s teaching, learning, and research purposes.
Participating Member Institutions may charge a reasonable fee to cover the costs of copying or printing portions of the licensed materials for Authorized Users.
Participating Member Institutions and Authorized Users may create, download, store and retain any analytics or lists delivered by the products. Cengage may use library holdings and other information in the products for comparison and metrics purposes and in order to better understand the customers’ needs.
Prohibited Use of Licensed Materials
Cengage does not convey to the Provincial Library or Authorized Users any other intellectual property rights to the product than the subscription and licenses specifically conveyed in this agreement and in particular does not transfer or assign any ownership of copyright by this agreement, which ownership shall remain in Cengage or the original copyright owner.
© 2001 - 2022. All rights reserved.
Saskatchewan Libraries site is maintained on behalf of the Multitype Library Board by the Saskatchewan Provincial Library and Literacy Office.