MDLP

Please review the following terms of use to understand what patrons can or cannot do with information located in the ProQuest databases.

 

Authorized Use of Licensed Materials

ProQuest hereby grants to authorized users:

• a subscription to access and read the product; and,
• a non-exclusive, non-transferable license to download a reasonable portion of the product in printed or electronic format for internal or personal use.  This license does not extend to downloading in electronic or print form, all or parts of the product in a systematic or regular manner so as to create a collection of materials comprising all or part of the product.  

 

Display

ProQuest shall include on the video display to any database of the product such conditions of use as may be imposed by content providers to that database and this license shall be subject to such conditions, but ProQuest warrants that such conditions shall not materially alter the use of the product by authorized users.

 

Course Packs

ProQuest hereby grants a license to authorized users who require the product: 

• for teaching purposes or course packs, to make up to one hard copy for each student being taught or make an electronic copy for access by such students, provided that such use is done using links directly to the on-line database system in a manner that allows a "hit" to be registered on the ProQuest on-line system so that the publisher royalty can be accurately tracked and paid; and,
• for the purposes of briefing the registered members of a special library, to make up to one hard copy for each member, provided that such copies are printed from the on-line database system so that a “hit” is registered on the ProQuest on-line system and that the publisher royalty can be accurately traced and paid.

 

Interlibrary Loan

ProQuest hereby grants a license to any library requiring the product for an interlibrary loan, to make one paper copy of isolated articles from its database for use in interlibrary loan to the extent allowed under the Canadian Copyright Act. 

 

Alternate Formats

ProQuest hereby grants a license to authorized users for access and electronic transmission of Alternate Formats of all or any part of published works included within the database. Alternate Formats means a large print, braille, audio or electronic-text copy created or electronically transmitted from published works within the database for persons who by reason of sensory, physical or neural handicap cannot effectively use print materials and persons involved in the educational use of any such Alternate Format copies.

 

Prohibited Uses of Licensed Materials

The Provincial Library shall not:

• charge any fee for access to the product or sell or otherwise for gain grant access to any portion of the product;
• publish, broadcast or sell any materials retrieved through the product; or,
• use the product or any material retrieved from the product in a manner that interferes with the publications and services of ProQuest.

 

ProQuest does not convey to the Provincial Library or authorized users any other intellectual property rights to the product than the subscription and licenses specifically conveyed in this agreement and in particular does not transfer or assign any ownership of copyright by this agreement, which ownership shall remain in ProQuest or the original copyright owner. 

Please review the following terms of use to understand what patrons can or cannot do with information located in the PressReader.

 

Prohibited Use of Licensed Materials

1. Translate, reverse engineer, disassemble, decompile, discover, or modify PressReader’s software.
2. Remove any copyright and other proprietary notices placed upon the products or any materials retrieved from the products by PressReader or its licensors.
3. Circumvent any use limitation or protection device contained in or placed upon the products or any materials retrieved from the products.
4. Perform penetration tests or use the products to execute denial of service attacks.
5. Provide access to or use of the products by or for the benefit of any unauthorized school, library, organization, or user.
6. Publish, broadcast, sell, use, commercially exploit or provide access to the products or any materials retrieved from the products in any manner that will infringe the copyright or other proprietary rights of PressReader or its licensors.
7. Use the products to create collections or perform services that compete or interfere with those of PressReader or its licensors.
8. Store any information on the product that violates applicable law or the rights of any third party.

 

Authorized Use of Licensed Materials

PressReader hereby grants to Authorized Users a subscription to access and read the product, and a non-exclusive, non-transferable license to download a reasonable portion of the product in printed or electronic format for internal or personal use. 

1. Clients and Authorized Users may use the materials contained within the products consistent with the doctrine of "fair dealing" as defined under the laws of Canada.
2. For the purposes of briefing the registered members of a special library, the library may make up to one hard copy for each member, provided that such copies are printed from the on-line database system so that a “hit” is registered on the PressReader on-line system and that the publisher royalty can be accurately traced and paid.
3. Provided that Clients do not circumvent any features or functionality of the products, partners may include durable links to articles or other works (or portions thereof) contained in the products in electronic reserves systems, course management, or intranet sites so long as access to such materials are limited to Authorized Users. Clients may print and make available a reasonable portion of the licensed materials for use in connection with specific courses of instruction.
4. Subject to Section 4, Clients and its Authorized Users may provide licensed material to a third party for purposes encompassing teaching, research, and institutional needs, including but not limited to the right to:

• use, reproduce, distribute, perform, and display the material in connection with teaching, conference presentations, and lectures;
• make full use of the material in future research and publications;
• republish, update or revise the material in whole or in part for later publication;
• meet requirements and conditions of research grants or publishing subventions provided by government agencies or non-profit foundations, and;
• grant to the author's employing institution some or all of the foregoing rights, as well as permission to use the materials in connection with administrative activities such as accreditation, mandated reports to provincial or federal governments, and similar purposes.  In all cases, the author and/or the author's employing institution will be expected to provide a proper citation to the published version.

5. Clients and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the licensed content in an electronic course pack or make an electronic copy for access by such students, provided that such use is done using links directly to the on-line database system in a manner that allows a "hit" to be registered on the PressReader on-line system so that the publisher royalty can be accurately tracked and paid. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgment of the source. Printing (hard) copy versions of content for a course pack is permitted.
6. Electronic links may be placed on Clients websites provided that such use is done using links directly to the on-line database system in a manner that allows a "hit" to be registered on the PressReader on-line system so that the publisher royalty can be accurately tracked and paid.
7. Clients and Authorized Users may distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the licensed materials in print or electronic form to Authorized Users.  For avoidance of doubt, classroom handouts shall include the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class.
8. Clients and its Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the licensed materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use but in no case for re-sale. In addition, Authorized Users have the right to use, with appropriate credit, figures, tables and brief excerpts from the licensed materials in the authorized user’s own scientific, scholarly and educational works.
9. Clients and its Authorized Users may alter or modify the licensed materials as necessary to provide an equivalent level of access to Authorized Users with disabilities.
10. Clients and its Authorized Users may display, download or print licensed materials for the purposes of internal marketing or testing, and for training Authorized Users.
11. Clients and its Authorized Users shall have the right to electronically display the licensed material.
12. MARC records may be placed in Clients’ online public access catalog (OPAC) or shared online catalog (e.g., WorldCat) unless otherwise specified with respect to a particular product.
13. For electronic resource discovery, access and/or management services, the Client reserves all right, title and interest in all Client specific data it contributes to the product (which may include but is not limited to Client created metadata, bibliographic information, holdings and circulation data) and grants PressReader permission to use such data in raw form for the limited purpose of operating and improving the products and such information may only be provided to third parties in aggregate form. Raw usage data containing information relating to the identity of specific users shall not be provided to any third party without the Clients permission. Provided that such access, use, and/or sharing does not violate an express provision of this agreement, Clients and its Authorized Users are permitted to:

• access the product and information derived from the product in order to discover, manage and provide access to library resources owned or licensed by Clients,
• create, store and retain any reports and lists delivered by the products, and
• display metadata, bibliographic and holdings information in the library catalog available on Clients library website.

14. For library catalog enrichment services (e.g., Syndetics), Clients may use the enrichment elements for the sole purpose of augmenting Clients’ own library OPAC or website.
15. Clients may charge a reasonable fee to cover the costs of copying or printing portions of the licensed materials for Authorized Users.
16. Clients and Authorized Users may create, download, store and retain any analytics or lists delivered by the products. PressReader may use library holdings and other information in the products for comparison and metrics purposes and in order to better understand the customers’ needs.